IPL 2019 Day 17: KXIP vs SRH Preview

Image Courtesy: The SportsRush

After losing their previous game on a sluggish pitch, both Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad will look to return to winning ways when they take on each other at Mohali tonight.

Image Courtesy: The SportsRush

Both KXIP and SRH arrive into today’s clash in similar mood. Both the sides could have been on the winning end on Saturday with each of them restricting their opponents to a modest total.

But fortunes weren’t in their favour as they failed to chase down the target. Despite both KL Rahul and Sarfraz Khan scoring half centuries, KXIP did not dare to take risks when needed and continued a cautious approach.

Before the side could even think of putting the pedal on the accelerator, the required run rate had exceeded 15.

While one could say that KXIP had been hard done by the slowness of the Chepauk wicket, SRH on the other hand couldn’t handle the MI attack in their own backyard.

One of the key problems SRH are facing is their over reliance on their openers. When they were dismissed cheaply on Saturday, their inexperienced middle order was exposed.

Thus when both the sides take on each other tonight at Mohali, they will look to correct their mistakes of Saturday. Also they will be delighted to find out that a much better wicket will be at place than what they faced on Saturday.

Team News:

Sam Curran returns to Mohali to continue from where he left off vs DC. Hardus might come in for Gayle with Curran opening the innings again.

No changes are expected with respect to spin department as both the Ashwins look in prime form.

Expected XI: Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, Sam Curran, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Murugan Ashwin, Mohammed Shami.

SRH have a good squad at their disposal and will not look to make any changes despite crumbling to MI.

Also with Nabi in top form, Kane Williamson will most likely have to warm the bench even if he returns to full fitness.

Expected XI: David Warner, Jonny Bairstow(w), Vijay Shankar, Manish Pandey, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar(c), Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul.

Also Read:

IPL 2019- DC vs RCB and RR vs KKR Review