(Photo Courtesy: India Today)
MS Dhoni along with his partner Dinesh Karthik led team India home in the last over during the 2nd ODI at Adelaide. But a video as emerged showing that the former had not completed a run during the chase.
Indian wicket-keeper MS Dhoni led India to a thrilling final over victory in the 2nd ODI against Australia in Adelaide on Tuesday. The 37-year-old managed to score 55 runs in 54 balls to take his side home and level the series 1-1.
Needing 7 to win of the last over, Dhoni smacked Behrendorff for a six that drew comparisons of his finish in 2012 against the bowling of McKay. He then run a quick single to guide India home with 4 balls to spare. However, a video surfaced on social media after the match, suggesting that the batsman had not completed a single during the match.
The incident took place during the 45th over, during Nathan Lyon’s final spell. While walking to take a single off the final ball, Dhoni appeared not to ground his bat at the other end, something that went unnoticed by the umpires, and the run was added to India’s account.
The incident shone to limelight after FOX Sports commentator Adam Gilchrist spotted it during his time in the commentators box.
“In Lyon’s last ball of his spell, MS Dhoni chipped him to the onside and straight away said there is no need for any pushing there because I have already hit him for six earlier in the over. Then the over was called and nothing touched the ground there,” Gilchrist said on-air.
“So this will be interesting with India requiring 25 off 18 and it was in the 45th over, so I wonder if we will hear anything more about that should this go down to the wire,” he said
With the series tied at 1-1, the two teams will fight it out for the title in the 3rd and final ODI at MCG on Friday.
Watch: Virat Kohli stands up to applaud MS Dhoni’s six that brought India to the cusp of victory