Virat Kohli in shortlist for Wisden Cricketer of the decade; MS Dhoni misses out


India Captain Virat Kohli is one of the four cricketers to have been listed as the Cricketer of the decade by Wisden Cricketers Almanac.

Kohli who has been in fine form sice the start of the decade has found a mention in the prestigious Wisdens Cricketers Almanac alongside AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Steve Smith and Ellyse Perry.

Kohli who has scored more than 20000 runs across the format has been a key feature in India’s success in this decade. He is ahead of other batsmen by around 5775 runs making him arguably the best batsman in this Decade.

Kohli was named as the captain of the test team by Wisden and also found a place in the One Day side which is led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Wisden spokesperson said that the Indian captain has averaged 63 between the end of the series against Australia in 2014 and the second test against Bangladesh in Kolkata with 21 hundreds and 15 fifties. He has also has a meteorical rise in the cricket.

Wisden also said that no other batsman has performed under such pressure and played well. Since the retirement of Sachin Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni gradually showing signs of downfall it has been Kohli who has been performing very well.

Virat who made his test debut in 2011 against West Indies after the World Cup win, has scored 7,202 runs including 27 centuries where as the Indian Captain has scored 11,125 runs in One Day Internationals and 2,633 runs in T20.

The Indian Captain has scored 70 centuries in total with 43 off them coming in One Day Internationals. The Indian Captain is the only cricketer who averages 50 in all three formats .

He ranks third and is only behind Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar when it comes to international hundreds. He is also the third in the list of highest run scores only behind legendary Australian Captain Ricky Ponting and Sachin Tendulkar.

There were some names which were missing from the Wisdens Cricketer of the decade list as former Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, David Warner and Mithali Raj didn’t find a mention in the player of the decade list.

Virat Kohli reveals Sachin Tendulkar’s pearl of wisdom in helping to deal with pink ball cricket