Former pacers Zaheer Khan and Simon Doull pick their respective Indian sides for 2019 World Cup


(Photo Courtesy: The Financial Times)

Former Indian pacer Zaheer Khan and New Zealand bowler Simon Doull have given their inputs on who will make the cut to the all important World Cup in June.

With less than 5 months for the start of the World Cup, every cricketer has begun to give their inputs on how each side must lineup for the event. Now with India sealing yet another series victory vs New Zealand, former pacer Zaheer Khan has already visioned a side that will be in the quest for the third world title after 1983 and 2011.

Zaheer, who has featured in three World Cups for India including two finals said that Indian players have started picking their game at the right time and are now a brute force to reckon with.

Speaking on Cricbuzz , the 40-year-old said he never had any doubt over MS Dhoni’s chances of playing this World Cup. His main concern was rather on how many fast bowlers will be picked.

“The main factor which will up for the debate is basically you want to go with four fast bowlers and Hardik Pandya or you want to take that chance and say okay, Hardik Pandya is our fourth seamer,” Zaheer said.

According to Zaheer, two players out of Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik and KL Rahul would get a nod if Pandya is picked as the fourth bowler.

Here is how Zaheer’s Indian squad for the 2019 World Cup looks like: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), MS Dhoni (wk), Ambati Rayudu/Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul/a fast bowler.

Similarly former New Zealand medium pacer and current commentator Simon Doull picked his Indian side for the world cup. His side features MS Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik and Kedar Jadhav in the middle order.

Doull also went with the Bhuvi-Bumrah combination stating that Shami will put extra pressure to claim Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s place. His squad sees Ravindra Jadeja as the second all rounder and Dinesh Karthik as the backup keeper.

Simon Doull’s squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.

Also Read:

Rahul Dravid supports alternate career choices for budding cricketers





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here