Tokyo Olympics Hockey Updates: Indian women’s team lose to the Netherlands


When Rani Rampal, the Indian women’s hockey team, scored a goal in the first 10 minutes of the match, hopes for a medal increased. The Indian women’s hockey team was able to put up a strong fight against the Netherlands in the first two quarters but ended up with 1-5 at the end of the match. 

The aces, Felice Alberts, Margot Van Geffen, Frederique Malta and Caia Jacqueline Van Maasakker made up the Netherlands hockey team. A special mention has to be given to Savita Punia, goalkeeper, who put up a nice defense throughout the game. 


The Indian women’s hockey team’s strategy was to counter-attack and score a goal. The team played well, but the strategy did not work as the Netherlands, the reigning Olympic Champion, showed their experience in the field as they attacked and scored goals nonstop. 

Albers had attempted a goal after six minutes had passed but her attempt was thwarted by Rampal. The score was 1-1 at halftime. But soon after the match resumed after the halftime break, things did not look so good for the Indian hockey team. 

The Netherlands was all pumped up and it was evident when they scored three goals back to back. The team earned a penalty corner just three minutes after the game resumed. The Dutch team had managed to get six penalty corners all total. The Indian team had lost its spirits by then. There was no comeback for team India after that. 

The difference between the two teams was pretty evident from the way the game ended. The Indian women team has to spend more time practising in the fields if they want to defeat a strong opponent like the Netherlands. Even though they lost, there was a major improvement in their gameplay. 

This is the second appearance of the Indian women’s hockey team in the Olympics. They previously participated in the 2016 Rio Games.

India – Savita Punia, Deep Grace Ekka, Nikki Pradhan, Gurjit Kaur, Udita, Nisha, Neha Goyal, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika Malik, Navjot Kaur, Salima Tete, Rani Rampal, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Vandana Katariya, Sharmila Devi.

Netherlands – Josine Koning, Caia van Maasakker, Freeke Moes, Pien Sanders, Lauren Stam, Margot van Geffen, Sanne Koolen, Malou Pheninckx, Laurien Leurink, Xan de Waard, Marloes Keetels, Laura Nunnink, Eva de Goede, Felice Albers, Stella van Gils, Maria Verschoor, Lidewij Welten, Frédérique Matla.

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

To bet on sports, click here