The Fielding Medal returns as the Indian Quaick grabs the first at the T20 WC

Fielding Medal

The Indian cricket team’s opening game of the T20 World Cup 2024 against Ireland marked the return of the much-anticipated fielding medal ceremony. This ceremony, a fan favourite, had been absent for a while, and its return was welcomed with much enthusiasm.

Mohammed Siraj gets first fielding medal at the T20 WC

The fielding medal is awarded to the player who exhibits exceptional fielding skills during the match. In this particular game, the award was handed over by a special guest, adding an extra layer of excitement to the ceremony.

The match against Ireland was a triumphant start for the Indian team, who beat the Irish by eight wickets. The Men in Blue chased down a modest target of 97 in just 12.2 overs. The team’s bowling and fielding were commendable, restricting Ireland to their second-lowest total in the T20 World Cup of 96.

There were several brilliant performers in the field for the Rohit Sharma-led side. Rishabh Pant was phenomenal with the gloves on his international return, and Axar Patel inflicted a brilliant caught and bowled dismissal of Barry McCarthy. However, it was fast bowler Mohammed Siraj who took the honours for running out Gareth Delany with his sharp throw.

To present the award, the team management invited a young fan into the dressing room. This gesture not only made the ceremony more memorable but also provided a once-in-a-lifetime experience for the young fan. The fan was elated to see all his favourite players at once and even posed for photographs with left-arm seamer Arshdeep Singh.

Arshdeep himself had a brilliant spell with the new ball, dismissing both the Irish openers, captain Paul Stirling and Andrew Balbirnie, in his second over with just nine runs on the board. Hardik Pandya was the pick of the bowlers for India with figures of 3/27 in four overs, while Jasprit Bumrah picked up 2/6 in three overs.

Also Read: “You are a legend of this game,” Croatian Legend Luka Modric hails Sunil Chhetri