T20 World Cup 2021 to be hosted from Oct 17 to Nov 14 in the UAE and Oman


The much anticipated T20 World Cup 2021 is scheduled to take place from 17th October onwards until 14th November, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially announced on Tuesday.

On Monday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had informed that the tournament will not be possible in India as the country is still under the threat of the COVID-19 crisis.

While the governing body of the sport of the country is still hosting the event, it will take place in four different venues in the United Arab Emirates as well as Oman.

The Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi and the Sharjah Stadium- the three venues which had hosted the 2020 Indian Premier League season have been picked, as well as the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

“Our priority is to deliver the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 safely, in full and in its current window,” an official statement from ICC acting CEO Geoff Allardice read, “Whilst we are incredibly disappointed not to be hosting the event in India, the decision gives us the certainty we need to stage the event in a country that is a proven international host of multi-team events in a bio-secure environment.”

The first round of the T20 World Cup 2021 will see eight qualifying teams locking horns against each other across the four venues, with four of them making the cut to the Super 12s to join the eight automatic qualifiers.

“We will work closely with the BCCI, the Emirates Cricket Board and Oman Cricket to ensure fans can enjoy a wonderful celebration of cricket,” the statement from the CEO added.

The tournament will kick off on 17th October, just two days after the final of the 2021 IPL takes place.

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here