Sports and Bollywood fraternity grace the red carpet at the second edition of Indian Sports Honours


The 2nd edition of the Indian Sports Honours (ISH), by RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group and Virat Kohli was held on 27th September 2019 in Mumbai. The annual ceremony is held to recognize and celebrate Indian athletes across various sports and sees attendance from several prominent and renowned personalities from the sports and Bollywood fraternity.

This year, the red carpet was graced by the biggest names in sports like Pulella Gopichand, Mahesh Bhupati, Sardar Singh, Sania Mirza, Satnam Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Vinesh Phogat, Milkha Singh, Neeraj Chopra, Dipa Karmakar, Ajinkya Rahane, Zaheer Khan, Bajrang Punia and many more. Several Bollywood celebrities like Amitabh Bachchan, Priyanka Chopra, Anushka Sharma, Armaan Malik, Arjun Kapoor, Sohail Khan, Javed Akhtar, Kartik Aaryan, Salim Merchant, Gurfateh Pirzada, Sona Mohapatra and Sagarika Ghatge amongst others were also present at ISH.

Virat Kolhi said, “There are various athletes who were felicitated with awards and scholarship tonight. Indian Sports Honours is a very important platform for them where they will be receiving this honor and scholarship.”

Arjun Kapoor said, “India is indulging a lot into sports nowadays. I am very glad that Virat and other stars have come up with function of this kind, where not only cricketers but the sportspersons from various other sports are also felicitated. I was a part of the history of young Indian athletes for becoming something great. This is going to be the first platform where they get introduced, thanks to the Virat Kohli Foundation.”

Milkha Singh said, “Getting felicitated at such a platform motivates athletes. The upcoming young generations, who are willing to rise above in the sport, will get an inspiration from initiatives such as Indian Sports Honours. The work that Virat Kohli Foundation is doing is amazing.”

Sania Mirza said, “I was part of this event last year also and was honored on this very platform. I am very glad to be here again and at this celebration for sport, a celebration for everybody who brings the laurels.”