RR vs RCB: Dinesh Karthik’s Controversial Leg-Before Decision in IPL 2024 Eliminator

5
Dinesh Karthik

In a high-stakes clash during the IPL 2024 Eliminator between the Rajasthan Royals (RR) and the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Dinesh Karthik found himself at the centre of a heated debate. The third umpire’s decision, or lack thereof, triggered controversy and left fans and experts divided.

Dinesh Karthik’s dismissal

In the 15th over of RCB’s innings, Dinesh Karthik faced a delivery from RR’s Avesh Khan. The on-field umpire adjudged him leg-before (LBW), signalling his dismissal. Karthik, however, decided to challenge the decision by opting for a review after consulting with his partner, Mahipal Lomror.

The third umpire, Anil Chaudhary, reviewed the footage. He ruled in favour of Karthik, citing that the batter had edged the ball. However, the Ultra-Edge technology showed a spike when the bat was beside the ball. This raised questions: Was it the bat hitting the pad, or had Karthik genuinely edged it?

Commentators on air criticized the decision, emphasizing the inconclusive evidence. In the RR dugout, head coach Kumar Sangakkara expressed visible frustration.

Fans took to social media, debating whether justice had been served or if the technology had faltered. However, the finisher for RCB failed to capitalize as he was dismissed for 11  runs off 13 balls.

 

 

Also Read: Virat Kohli reaches to the pinnacle of 8000 IPL runs