Rohit Sharma Shubman Gill makes the cut in India’s test squad against South Africa


India have announced their 15-man squad for the Test series against South Africa which starts from October 2. Youngster Shubman Gill gets his maiden call-up while KL Rahul, has been dropped after his dismal performance in the West Indies tour. Following chief selector MSK Prasad’s confirmation last week, Rohit Sharma gets a call up but pacer, Umesh Yadav misses out as India have cut short their 16-member squad from the Caribbean tour to just 15 players for the upcoming series.

“With regards to Shubman Gill, we look at him as an opener as well as middle-order batsman. We are looking at him as back-up for both the slots. As he keeps playing more and more, he will get his opportunities, because he is a player for all three formats,” said MSK Prasad after the panel meeting.

On Rohit Sharma’s inclusion, Prasad said that the selectors wanted to give him an opportunity to open in Tests.

“Yes, we are definitely looking at him (Rohit) and want to give him an opportunity up the order. He is keen (on opening) and the selection committee as well as everyone (team management) is keen. We want to see where he stands and then take a call” he stated.

India who sit on the top spot of the ICC Test rankings, are also leading the points table in the inaugural World Test Championship with 120 points after thrashing West Indies in the two tests last month.

Here is India’s squad for Test series vs South Africa:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here