Press Note: The categories for the second edition of the Indian Sports Honours have been announced


Indian Sports Honours (ISH), an initiative by RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group and Virat Kohli Foundation, today announced the 17 categories for their second edition which will be held in Mumbai on 16th February 2019.  ISH aims to recognise and honour Indian sportspersons for their exceptional performances, sportsmanship and spirit of sport through a grand felicitation ceremony.

Last month, the ISH Jury, which comprised of eminent leaders and sporting champions including the likes of Mr. Sanjiv Goenka, Pullela Gopichand, Abhinav Bindra, Sardar Singh, Mahesh Bhupathi, PT Usha and Anjali Bhagwat met and finalized the winners from 11 categories. The nominations in each category were shortlisted by 200 journalists from Sport Journalists Federation of India and the process was overseen and validated by Ernst & Young. Apart from the 11 Jury Honours, there are ‘Six Popular Choice Honours’ and winners will be decided through online voting process on Twitter.

The voting will open on 9th February 2019 and will close on the morning of 16th February 2019.  Fans can go online and vote for their respective categories on Twitter on this handle @SportsHonours