OTD: Chennai Super Kings defeats MI to clinch maiden IPL trophy in 2010

Chennai Super Kings

On this day, 14 years ago, the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), under the leadership of the legendary MS Dhoni, clinched their maiden Indian Premier League (IPL) title. This victory came after a crushing defeat of their long-time rivals, the Mumbai Indians (MI), in the final.

Chennai Super Kings humble MI in the final

The final took place at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. CSK defeated MI by 22 runs, marking the beginning of their journey to becoming one of the most successful teams in the competition. This victory was the first of the five titles that the franchise went on to win over the next 16 years.

The Player of the Match award was given to Suresh Raina for his unbeaten knock of 57 off 35 balls. His performance played a crucial role in setting a challenging total for MI. The victory was a testament to the strategic acumen of Dhoni, whose captaincy was instrumental in leading CSK to their first IPL title.

The match was a thrilling encounter, with CSK setting a target of 206 runs. Despite the best efforts of the MI team, they fell short by 22 runs. The victory was a result of a well-rounded performance by the CSK team, with significant contributions from both the batsmen and the bowlers.

Dhoni’s leadership was a key factor in this victory. Known for his calm demeanour and strategic brilliance, Dhoni marshalled his troops effectively, making crucial decisions that tilted the match in CSK’s favour. His ability to remain composed under pressure and make sound tactical decisions has been a hallmark of his captaincy, contributing significantly to CSK’s success over the years.

This victory marked the beginning of a successful era for CSK in the IPL. Following their maiden title in 2010, CSK went on to win the IPL in 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023. Dhoni’s leadership has been a constant factor in CSK’s success, earning him the distinction of being one of the most successful captains in the history of the IPL.

Also Read: PPA Tour and Major League Pickleball to Debut in India in 2025