NRAI announce Indian Rifle and Pistol Shooting Squad for Paris Olympics 2024


The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) has announced a 15-member Indian rifle and pistol shooting squad for the upcoming Paris Olympics 2024. This team is a blend of experienced Olympians and promising newcomers, all set to represent India on the global stage.

NRAI’s Squad Composition for the Paris Olympics

The squad comprises eight rifle shooters and seven in the pistol discipline. The women’s pistol squad includes two-time Olympian Manu Bhaker, who is the only athlete participating in more than one individual event. She will compete in the women’s 10m air pistol and the women’s 25m pistol.

Apart from Manu Bhaker, rifle shooters Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar, Anjum Moudgil, and Elavenil Valarivan will return for their second Olympic Games. The remaining 11 rifle and pistol shooters will be making their Olympic debuts.

Sift Kaur Samra, who won an individual gold medal in the 50m rifle 3 positions at the Asian Games last year with a world record in the final, is also in the Indian team. The 19-year-old shooter Esha Singh, who won four medals at the Asian Games, and Rhythm Sangwan make up the three-women pistol team with Manu.

All the team members, along with the coaches and support staff, are currently in a training camp in Volmerange-Les-Mines, France, mainly aimed at acclimatization and hard training before they return for a two-week break.

The shotgun team will be announced following the conclusion of the ISSF World Cup in Lonato on June 18. India obtained five quotas in shotgun events for the Paris 2024 Olympics during the qualifying period, which ended on June 9.

Also Read: “All batters across teams would prefer to leave,” Heinrich Klaasen about the controversial New York Pitch