National Sports Awards 2018 Roundup


Unlike every year, this year’s National Sports Day awards were held today (25th September) at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. Every year the awards are presented on 29th August which is the National Sports Day. This year’s event was solely postponed due to the Asian Games.

President Ram Nath Kovind graced the occasion as he handed over all the awards to the Sportspersons and the coaches. Here’s the list of the awards and the players.


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2018

Name of the Sportsperson                    Discipline

1. Mirabai Chanu                                 Weightlifting
2. Virat Kohli                                       Cricket


Dronacharya Awards 2018

Name of the Coach                                               Discipline

1. Subedar Chenanda Achaiah Kuttappa                 Boxing
2. Vijay Sharma                                                   Weightlifting
3. A. Srinivasa Rao                                               Table Tennis
4. Sukhdev Singh Pannu                                       Athletics
5. Clarence Lobo                                                  Hockey (Life Time)
6. Tarak Sinha                                                     Cricket (Life Time)
7. Jiwan Kumar Sharma                                        Judo (Life Time)
8. V.R. Beedu                                                      Athletics (Life Time)


Arjuna Awards 2018

Name of the Sportsperson                                    Discipline

1. Neeraj Chopra                                                Athletics
2. Subedar Jinson Johnson                                  Athletics
3. Hima Das                                                      Athletics
4. Nelakurthi Sikki Reddy                                   Badminton
5. Subedar Satish Kumar                                   Boxing
6. Smriti Mandhana                                           Cricket
7. Shubhankar Sharma                                      Golf
8. Manpreet Singh                                             Hockey
9. Savita                                                          Hockey
10. Col. Ravi Rathore                                        Polo
11. Rahi Sarnobat                                             Shooting
12. Ankur Mittal                                                Shooting
13. Shreyasi Singh                                            Shooting
14. Manika Batra                                              Table Tennis
15. G. Sathiyan                                                Table Tennis
16. Rohan Bopanna                                          Tennis
17. Sumit                                                        Wrestling
18. Pooja Kadian                                              Wushu
19. Ankur Dhama                                             Para-Athletics
20. Manoj Sarkar                                             Para-Badminton


Dhyan Chand Award 2018

Name of the Sportsperson                 Discipline

1. Satyadev Prasad                           Archery
2. Bharat Kumar Chetri                     Hockey
3. Bobby Aloysius                             Athletics
4. Chougale Dadu Dattatray              Wrestling


Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2018

Category                                                                            Name of the entity

1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding & Young Talent       Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Ltd.
2. Encouragement to Sports through Corporates                    JSW Sports
3. Sports for Development                                                   Isha Outreach


With the up rise of corporate investments and the number of awardees increasing potentially, we can be assured that the Indian Sports Industry is only to boom in the near future and create prolific World Champions!

Also Read:

Sports India Exclusive: Chennaiyin FC unveil their squad ahead of the 2018-19 ISL season