Mohun Bagan Super Gianst humbles Mumbai City FC to win maiden ISL League Shield

Mohun Bagan Super Giants

Mohun Bagan, one of the oldest football clubs in India, scripted history by clinching their maiden Indian Super League (ISL) League Shield. The Kolkata-based club defeated Mumbai City FC 2-1 in a thrilling encounter at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

Despite being reduced to 10 players, Mohun Bagan Super Giants held their ground to mark their first win over the two-time Shield Winners in four seasons. The victory also ensured their spot in the AFC Champions League.

The new ISL League Shield Winners: Mohun Bagan Super Giants

The match was a roller-coaster ride with goals from Liston Colaco (28th minute) and Jason Cummings (80th minute) for Mohun Bagan. A late 89th-minute strike by Lallianzuala Chhangte for Mumbai City FC took the game right down to the wire. Despite eight minutes of added time in the second half and Mohun Bagan’s Brendan Hamill getting a red card in the 91st minute, Mohun Bagan held their nerves to win their maiden ISL League Shield.

With this win, Mohun Bagan Super Giant jumped to 48 points from 22 matches in ISL 2023-24, edging past Mumbai City FC by a solitary point. The victory marked a significant turnaround for the club, which was struggling mid-season with three straight defeats in December before head coach Antonio Lopez Habas arrived to help the Kolkata giants script a turnaround.

The match was a showcase of strategic brilliance and resilience. Liston opened the floodgates with his thunderous effort from the left side of the box in the 28th minute. His efforts bore fruit thanks to a timely assist by Dimitrios Petratos, whose pass was received, held on, and hammered onto the top right corner effortlessly by the winger.

In the second half, Mumbai City FC emerged as the more dominant of the two sides, holding the possession for a reasonable period and knocking on the doors of the Mohun Bagan Super Giant backline. However, the home side held their lead dear despite playing with 10 men after the sending-off of Brendan Hamill in the 91st minute of the game.

Also Read: Anirban Lahiri is on a tough path to qualify for the Paris Olympics