Mohun Bagan set to be crowned I-League Champions as AIFF terminates the ongoing season

AdvertisementUFC - GYM Crickx

The nationwide lockdown due to the coronavirus threat has forced the All India Football Federation to not resume the season which means that Mohun Bagan will be the Hero I-League Champion for the 2019-20 season. 

The suggestion of terminating the season was reportedly put forward to the AIFF by the I-League panel through video conference. As a result, all of the remaining 28 matches left to play will not be held. AIFF released a statement which read:


The committee recommended that the 2019-20 season be deemed to be concluded. That Mohun Bagan be declared as the Hero I-League champion for the 2019-20 season as they stand atop current standings in the Hero I-League until the point of suspension on March 14, 2020,” 

Before I-League suspended the league on April 14, Mohun Bagan were miles ahead with 39 points from 16 games. Meanwhile, East Bengal, Minerva Punjab and Real Kashmir were expected to tussle for the second place.


As far as the other aspects are concerned, the I-League have decided to award the prize money apart from the money set aside for the champions, to be equally divided amongst the rest of the teams. Moreover, the panel have decided that there would be no relegation from the league this season.

“Mohun Bagan with 39 points from 16 matches enjoy a point difference which is insurmountable by any other team even if all other matches had been played and concluded as a normal course of action,” the I-League Committee said.

“With regards to the remaining clubs, and noting the concerns expressed by many of them in writing, the League Committee recommended the remaining prize money (apart from the champion’s prize money) be equally divided among the remaining 10 participating clubs.”

The I-League Committee has also decided to conclude the youth leagues as well and will start afresh from the 2020-21 season.

“Hence, recommended to stand by the conclusion of all youth leagues in current season the Hero sub-junior League, the Hero Junior League, the Hero Elite League, and the U-17 Khelo India Girls League and start afresh from 2020-21 season,” the AIFF release said.

Read Also:

Kevin De Bruyne and family fell ill – but he doesn’t know if it was Coronavirus!