Manish Narwal and Rubina Francis Shine at Para Shooting World Cup

Para Shooting World Cup

Indian para shooters Manish Narwal and Rubina Francis made the nation proud at the WSPS Para Shooting World Cup, held in New Delhi. Both athletes showcased their skills and determination, clinching silver and bronze medals respectively.

Indian Contingent at Para Shooting World Cup

Manish Narwal, a Tokyo Paralympics gold medallist, won silver medals in both the men’s 10m air pistol (SH1) individual and team events. In the individual event, Narwal shot 236.7, finishing behind Chao Yang of China who scored 240.3. Jeongdu Jo of Korea settled for the bronze with a score of 214.7. Narwal then joined forces with Rudransh Khandelwal and Sanjeev Giri to fetch the silver in the P1 men’s team 10m air pistol (SH1) event.

Rubina Francis, on the other hand, won India’s third medal of the day, a bronze in the women’s 10m air pistol (SH1) event. Rubina shot 211.2 in the eight-shooter final. Krisztina David of Hungary and Russia’s Oksana Berezovskaia, competing as a Neutral Paralympic Athlete, took home the gold and silver medals respectively.

Despite winning a medal, Rubina suffered a setback as she lost the opportunity to grab a Paralympic quota place to the silver medallist Oksana Berezovskaia. This event was the last opportunity for all the para-shooters to secure a quota place for the Paralympics.

On the other hand, Paralympic medallist, Singhraj Adana had a horrible outing as he wasn’t able to reach the final and finished at the 24th position in the qualification round. Although, Manish and Singraj already won the Paralympic quota places for Paris 2024.

Meanwhile, Paralympic champions Avani Lekhara and Mona Aggarwal missed out on medals as they finished 5th and 6th respectively in the final of R8 – Women’s 50m Rifle 3 Positions SH1 category. Mona missed the chance to add one more medal to her tally at this World Cup. She won one gold medal and a silver medal in this competition.

Also Read: Punit Balan Group to support Wrestler Sikandar Shaikh