List of players who will be leaving IPL 2019 for national team commitments

Foreign players will be departing for their respective countries for the World Cup.
Foreign players will be departing for their respective countries for the World Cup.

As predicted before the start of the tournament, the foreign players have started leaving the IPL midway for their national commitments. The English players are the first ones to leave for the World Cup preparations camp of the National team. While Jonny Bairstow has already played his last game for the SRH, Moeen Ali will play his last game tonight against the KXIP.

England, along with Australia and South Africa are some of the nations who had made it clear before-hand that they will be calling their players back before the 12th season of the IPL ends. The English specifically, have an ODI series against Pakistan before the World Cup kicks off.

Here is a teamwise list of all the players who will be heading back to their country for the World Cup preparations:

  1. Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir.
  2. Royal Challengers Bangalore: Moeen Ali, Dale Steyn, Marcus Stoinis, Henrich Klaasen
  3. Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jofra Archer
  4. Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, Shakib Al Hasan
  5. Mumbai Indians: Jason Behrendorff, Quinton de Kock
  6. Kings XI Punjab: David Miller
  7. Delhi Capitals: Kagiso Rabada
  8. Kolkata Knight Riders: Joe Denly

England, Australia, South Africa, and Bangladesh are the teams that have their players to report back to their country by the first week of May, as the sessions of the World Cup preparation begin.

There isn’t much clarity about the West Indies players, however, New Zealand and Afghanistan players will be available throughout the season.

The Windies cricket board will be announcing its 15-member squad for the World Cup on the 25th of April. The West Indian players now featuring actively in the IPL matches are the likes of Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, and Nicholas Pooran.

As per the current list of players departing from the IPL, RCB, SRH, and RR are the franchises which will be worst affected. From these three teams, the qualification task for RCB and RR looks far fetched. However, if SRH is to qualify, they will need to dig deep and find players who are reliable enough to replace these players and push their case further.