IPL 2024 Final: Starc and Vaibhav outclass SRH openers with swing in the Powerplay

IPL 2024 Final

The IPL 2024 Final got underway with a disastrous start for the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) with both openers once again failing to deliver on the big stage. The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) bowlers Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora extracted a beautiful swing at the top and dismissed Abhishek Sharma (2 runs off 5 balls) and Travis Head for a golden duck respectively.

The highest-paid player in IPL history, Mitchell Starc is contributing to the team in the crucial games, proving his worth for every penny put on him.

IPL 2024 Final: Starc with the ball of the tournament

Bowling the first over, Starc dismantled Abhishek Sharma with a beautiful outswinger that took the off stump. The awe-struck fans and the commentator called it the “Ball of the Tournament.” Travis Head is supposed to be the first opener, but his record against Starc has forced him to get away from the strike, which in return scapegoats Abhishek.

Rahul Tripathi, who played a quick-fire knock in the last game against Rajasthan Royals in Qualifier 2, also fell to the bait of Starc’s brilliance, this time with a pace-off delivery in his 3rd over. Aiden Markram and Nitish Kumar Reddy are in the middle at the end of the powerplay with 39/3.

SRH have a huge task to put up a big score. With Heinrich Klassen to come in, the team need to build on crucial partnerships to set a defendable target.

Also Read: Rapper Drake puts a bet on KKR to win the final against SRH