IPL 2020 Final Review: Mumbai Indians bask in the glory following record clinching 5th title win

Mumbai Indians brought the curtains down with a convincing win (NDTV Sports)

A highly anticipated tournament which was initially marred by the coronavirus pandemic reached its epic culmination after a gruelling regime that lasted around 2 months. 4-time champions Mumbai Indians were pitted against first-time finalists Delhi Capitals for the coveted IPL crown. Much like the majority of the tournament, Mumbai Indians coasted their way to victory in Dubai and were crowned as the champions for a record fifth time in 13 years. 

Delhi Capitals, who did not boast a good chasing record so far, thanked the heavens after the coin fell in their favour. Skipper Shreyas Iyer had no hesitation to bat first and put in a total for the opposition to chase. The franchise named the same playing eleven that tasted victory against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 2.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians brought the curtains down with a convincing win (NDTV Sports)

While Mumbai Indians sweated over the fitness of Trent Boult, who only bowled 2 overs in Qualifier 1, the pacer was deemed fit for the all-important final. Rohit Sharma did include a solitary change with Rahul Chahar being dropped in favour for off-spinner Jayant Yadav to counter the left-handed batsmen in the Delhi Capitals’ batting unit.

Following his success at the top of the order, Marcus Stoinis was once again paired up with Shikhar Dhawan to face the new ball. The move backfired this time around as Trent Boult was able to remove the all-rounder in the very first delivery of the game.

The Kiwi pacer also preyed upon the wicket of Ajinkya Rahane while Jayant Yadav struck gold by dismissing the in-form Shikhar Dhawan. Reeling at 22-3, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant brought the final back to life with a formidable 96-run stand for the fourth wicket.

The wicket-keeper batsman had to walk back after scoring 56, while Iyer kept going to remain unbeaten on 65. A lacklustre death hitting display meant that Mumbai Indians had to chase 157 runs to get their hands on the trophy.

Mumbai Indians execute the perfect chase to win consecutive titles

Delhi Capitals had to endure a solid powerplay to have any chance of defending the below-par total. Quinton de Kock and Rohit Sharma got the team off to a perfect start by attacking from the word go. While the team lost de Kock, the loss did not deter them with 61 runs being scored in the powerplay.

Suryakumar Yadav sacrificed his wicket for captain Rohit Sharma at the other end to bring a slight wobble in a smooth run chase. Leading run-scorer for the franchise this season, Ishan Kishan, notched up his 30th six and brought them close to victory.

Despite losing the Hitman for 68 and power hitters Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya in quick succession, Mumbai Indians romped to victory with ease at the 18.4 over mark to kickstart the celebrations.

People living in Mumbai can continue their winning frenzy by playing slots games, table games, video poker games, wheel games, and card games at the casinos in Mumbai.

That brings an end to Sports India’s Show’s IPL coverage.If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com. Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

Also Read:

Adelaide Day-Night test to host 27000 spectators per day