IPL 2019: Qualifier 1: MI vs CSK Preview

Image Courtesy: Sportskeeda

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians face off against each other for the 3rd time this season. This time in a bid to book a place in the finals.

Image Courtesy: Sportskeeda

The excitement surrounding Qualifier 1 were already high during the mid way of the tournament. Now it has shot further up as the event’s fiercest rivals will face off for the place in the finals.

Having played twice in the group stage, Mumbai Indians came out on top both times. CSK will feel this will be the right time to inflict a revenge on their opponents. The side will be boosted by the fact that the game happens to at their beloved home.

Mumbai Indians have so far shown exceptional performances out on the pitch. But their only concern still remains the ability to churn out more runs in the middle order. Their side have always left Pandya to do most of the scoring at the death.

But the side will be vary of the fact that CSK have one of the best economy rates in the middle overs.

CSK themselves will be concerned about the form of Shane Watson. Despite scoring 96 vs SRH, the Australian has failed to fire in the remaining games making his form a cause for concern.

Team News:

Kedar Jadhav’s injury vs KXIP puts him out of the tournament. His place will most likely be taken by Dhruv Shorey. Rest up a similar side is expected.

Mumbai on the other hand will be pleased of the fact that Mitchell McClenaghan has returned to his best. But his place in the side still remains a doubt with the conditions at Chepauk not suiting his gameplay.

If Rohit goes on to pick a side based on conditions and not form, Mayank Markande could get an outing.

Expected XI:

CSK: Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Dhruv Shorey, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir.

MI: Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan/Evin Lewis, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mitchell McClenaghan/Anukul Roy, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.

Also Read:

Sunil Gavaskar picks England has the favorites to win World Cup