Indian Team to leave for New York on May 25 for T20 World Cup


The Indian cricket team gears up for the T20 World Cup, and their travel plans are now set. In a strategic move, most players will take off for New York on May 25, while those competing in the IPL final will follow suit the next day.

Earlier, the members of teams failing to qualify for the play-offs were supposed to leave for New York on May 21, two days after the final league game of the IPL on May 19 but it has since been learnt that there has been some change in plans and now the first batch will leave on May 25.

Who would leave on May 25 for the T20 World Cup?

Only those players who are part of the IPL final will stay back and will leave for New York on May 27. This will also give adequate time to the squad to reduce jet lag and have at least three to four quality net sessions before the Bangladesh warm-up game.

India will open their campaign against Ireland on June 5 in New York, followed by the marquee clash against Pakistan on June 9.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.

Also Read: PBKS appoints Jitesh Sharma as the captain for their last league game against SRH in IPL 2024