Indian Supercross Racing League: CS Santosh’s BigRock Motorsports In The Lead After Round 1

big rock motorsports cs santosh

Rally heavyweight CS Santosh’s team, BigRock Motorsports, has taken the overall lead after making it to the podium in all the races and securing two race wins in the inaugural Ceat Indian Supercross Racing League (ISRL). The tournament began at Pune’s Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex which saw an impressive crowd of 10,000.  


The league has replicated a format similar to IPL and it has been applied to supercross racing for the first time in the world. These Supercross races are conducted on indoor dirt tracks, and feature steep jumps and obstacles.

It is noted that six teams will compete in the inaugural season, and these include some prominent names in the motorsport world – Arjuna award winner Gaurav Gill, CS Santosh and Dhruv – who are fielding their own teams.

A total of 48 racers were selected after an auction process and the final grid featured some big names – 9-time Australian MX and SX champion Matt Moss and 4-time South Africa Supercross Champion Anthony Raynard, to name a few. Honda, KTM and Kawasaki have provided the bikes for different teams.

There are four categories – 450cc international, 250cc international, 250cc India/Asia mix and finally Junior 85cc. For the inaugural round, the Junior 85cc category was limited to just a demo run and points have been handed to the other three.

In the evening, each team selected one racer from the senior classes to compete in an All-star race, which saw the 450cc and 250cc riders take to the purpose-built track at the same time.

BigRock Motorsport take the lead

BB Racing’s Jordi Tixier enjoyed a strong run with victory in the 450cc international and All-star races. However, BigRock Motorsports has taken the overall lead in the league standings after making it to the podium in all the races.

Australian racer Reid Taylor won the 250cc international race, while Thailand’s Thanarat Penjan sealed the victory in the 250cc India-Asia mix race. Both Cedric Soubeyras and Matt Moss finished on the podium (second and third, respectively) in the 450cc international race, behind Tixier. Moss followed that up with a second-place finish in the All-star race.

Upcoming dates

The league will now head to Ahmedabad’s EKA Arena for Round 2 on February 11. The finale will emanate from Delhi’s Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on February 25. Tickets will go on sale on BookMyShow in the coming days.

Where to watch?

All rounds will also be streamed live on JioCinema and Sports 18.