Indian Hockey Team Heads to Australia for Five-Match Test Series

Indian Hockey Team

The Indian Hockey Team, led by Harmanpreet Singh, has embarked on a significant journey as they left for Australia to participate in an intense five-match Test series. The team departed from the Indira Gandhi International Airport on Monday night.

This series, which begins on April 6, is a crucial assignment ahead of the Paris Olympics in July-August. The team has been in good form and recently won three out of its four matches during the FIH Pro League in Bhubaneswar. After the opening game on April 6, the series features matches on April 7, 10, 12, and 13.

The series is pivotal for the team to enhance their performance, build, and check through the improvement areas before the Paris Olympics. “As we embark on this crucial tour to Australia, we are filled with determination and excitement. The series presents an excellent opportunity for us to assess our strengths and areas for improvement ahead of the Paris Olympics,” Harmanpreet said before the side’s departure.

Vice-captain Hardik Singh stated that this tour holds immense significance. “We have been working hard as a team to refine our skills and strategies, and we are confident in our abilities. We are focused on putting up a strong performance and making our country proud,” he said.

The Indian Hockey team for the Australia Test Series

Goalkeepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, PR Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera.

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh ©, Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Jugraj Singh, Sanjay, Sumit, Amir Ali.

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh (VC), Vivek Sagar Prasad, Shamsher Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Rajkumar Pal, Vishnukant Singh.

Forwards: Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Abhishek, Dilpreet Singh, Sukhjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mohammed Raheel Mouseen, Boby Singh Dhami, Araijeet Singh Hundal.

Also Read: Manav-Manush falls short in the nail-biting final at the WTT Feeder Otocec