Indian hockey team announce their 18-member squad for World Cup

mens hockey team india

Hockey India named their 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team who will represent the nation at the Hockey Men’s World Cup to be held in Bhubaneswar from 28 November to 16 December at the Kalinga Stadium. India will begin their campaign against South Africa on the opening day of the quadrennial extravaganza.

Can these 18-men repeat the heroics of the 1975 World Cup?

India has only won the coveted championship once when they defeated Pakistan 2-1 in the finals of the 1975 Men’s Hockey World Cup. At the 2014 World Cup in the Hague, India finished ninth. But, this time with the home advantage being on their side, the Indian team will look to at least make it to the semi-finals given that they are also ranked fifth.

The team will be led by Manpreet Singh whereas the onus will be on Chinglensana Singh to lead the pack in his absence. Here are the 18 players announced who will represent the tricolor:

1. P R Sreejesh
2. Krishan Bahadur Pathak
3. Harmanpreet Singh
4. Birendra Lakra
5. Varun Kumar
6. Kothajit Singh Khadangbam
7. Surender Kumar
8. Amit Rohidas
9. Manpreet Singh (Captain)
10. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice Captain)
11. Nilakanta Sharma
12. Hardik Singh
13. Sumit
14. Akashdeep Singh
15. Mandeep Singh
16. Dilpreet Singh
17. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
18. Simranjeet Singh