India vs South Africa: BCCI to host Proteas Women for an all-format tour in June-July

India vs South Africa

India vs South Africa: The Indian women’s cricket team is set to host South Africa for a multi-format series in June-July 2024. This series will be a significant event in the cricketing calendar, marking a crucial juncture in the preparation for the 2024 Women’s T20 World Cup.

India vs South Africa: Series Overview

The series will comprise one Test, three ODIs, and three T20Is. The white-ball leg of the series, including the ODIs and T20Is, will be hosted in Bengaluru. The one-off Test match will be played at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The Test match is scheduled for June 28, while the T20Is are scheduled for July 5, 7, and 9.

This series is a significant step in the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) aim to take women’s cricket to newer centres. For the past few years, the BCCI has preferred to host teams across multiple venues in Mumbai citing logistical reasons. They broke away from that norm with the Women’s Premier League (WPL) earlier this year, with games held in Bengaluru and Delhi.

The series also marks a significant development in promoting women’s Test cricket. This will be the third Test India will play in seven months, having played against England and Australia in December. Meanwhile, South Africa, who broke their eight-year hiatus from the format when they played in England in June 2022, last played a four-day game in February in Perth, where they lost to Australia by an innings and 284 runs.


The series will serve as a crucial preparatory ground for both teams ahead of the T20 World Cup that is set to be held in Bangladesh in September-October. The ODIs will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship, which will give direct qualifications to the top four teams, apart from the hosts, for the 2025 ODI World Cup, which will be held in India. South Africa are currently second on that table.

Also Read: Ajay Jadeja suggests Virat Kohli to open and Rohit to bat at 3 for India at T20 World Cup