India VS New Zealand Day 1: Rain interrupts third session, top order fails for India


Day 1 of the first test match played between New Zealand and India became a sacrificial lamb to rains. The day’s play was called off due to rain and wet conditions.

The first test match is being played at Basin Reserve Park in Wellington. The Kiwis won the toss and elected to bowl first. It turned out to be the right decision as the Indian top-order was blown away by superior bowling.

The first casualty of the Kiwi bowling lineup was Prithvi Shaw who was bowled by Tim Southee. It was a poor shot selection by the former U-19 world cup winning captain. Shaw was batting well as he scored 16 runs off 18 deliveries. He also hit 2 boundaries in the process.

Chestswar Pujara also fell soon after playing 42 balls and only scoring 11 runs. It didn’t take long for Kiwi bowlers to take out Pujara. He became a victim of Kyle Jamieson’s slow ball. It was also the 25-year old’s maiden test wicket. The 6-foot-8-inch tall Kyle threw a slow 130 kmph delivery and Pujara judged it poorly and the Watling caught it beautifully behind the wicket.

Two overs later the next to depart was Indian skipper Virat Kohli. He also was a victim of Jamieson’s impressive bowling. Virat also chose his shot poorly as he hit a fairly wide ball right into Taylor’s hands.

On the other hand, Mayank Agarwal was holding down the fort well for a while as he scored 34 runs off 84 deliveries. He fell to Boult as the ball hit the top edge and caught by Jamieson.

The last wicket to fall for the day was that of Hanuma Vihari, who also fell to Jamieson. It has been a debut of the dreams for the tall Kiwi.

Currently at the crease are Ajinkya Rahane and Rishab Pant. Pant is currently batting at 10 off 37 deliveries and Rahane is batting at 38 off 122 deliveries.

The weather visuals for tomorrow are fairly well and rain is not expected to interrupt the matches.

Brief Scores

India 1st Innings: 122 for 5 in 55 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 38 batting, Mayank Agarwal 34, Rishabh Pant 10 batting; Kyle Jamieson 3/38)


CWC 2019: Vijay Shankar ruled out of the tournament, Mayank Agarwal called-in as replacement