BCCI announces India squad for the last two tests against England

Indian bowling unit

Team India announced the squad for the rest of the two Tests against England. After the first two Tests in Chennai, the series has been shifted to Ahmedabad, where the remaining two Tests and the five-match Twenty20 International series will take place. Meanwhile, Umesh Yadav has been added to the squad who will replace Shardul Thakur after completing a fitness test as well.

Indian bowling unit

It is also noteworthy that, pace spearhead Mohammed Shami and the all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja wouldn’t be available. And, this means they’re yet to be fully fit as well.

“Umesh Yadav will join the team in Ahmedabad and after his fitness assessment will replace Shardul Thakur, who will be released for Vijay Hazare Trophy,” the BCCI said in a statement.

“Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shahbaz Nadeem and Priyank Panchal have been released for Vijay Hazare Trophy. The Committee also picked five net bowlers and two players as standbys,” it further read.

Notably, Shami, Jadeja, Umesh all sustained injuries at various stages during their tour of Australia recently. Since Team India have shared a fair share of success with a stunning bench strength, it is likely to be expected that Team India wouldn’t take any risk to bring them back before they become match-fit.

On the other hand, in Ravindra Jadeja’s absence, spinner Axar Patel made his debut in the second Test against England and claimed a five-wicket haul in the second innings. Meanwhile, Mohammed Siraj was impressive too. However, the speedster Jasprit Bumrah is all set to return for the next two Tests as he was rested for the second Test.

Team India have already levelled the four-match Test series 1-1, with the third Test starting on February 24 where the last Test will take place from March 4.

Squad for the third and fourth Tests: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Net Bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Krishnappa Gowtham, Saurabh Kumar

Standby players: KS Bharat, Rahul Chahar.

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com
Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here

Gautam Gambhir names this player as the ‘next Andre Russell’ of IPL

Faf du Plessis retires from Test cricket, wants to focus on T20 format