India name their playing eleven for the pink ball test; Saha and Shaw chosen over Pant and Gill


Team India named their team to face Australia in the first test of the Borde-Gavaskar series in Adelaide. Amid speculations about the team selection, Virat Kohli has gone with 4 frontline bowlers for the pink ball test. Moreover, despite Rishabh Pant’s enthralling hundred and Gill’s solid knocks in the warm-up games, they could not find a spot in the playing eleven. 


Virat Kohli will lead the side for the first test before departing back to India while Ajinkya Rahane has been named as the vice-captain on the team sheet. Have a look at the playing eleven right below:

With Mayank Agarwal certain to be the first choice opener, the question was who would partner him at the other end. While the pundits vouched for the selection of Gill which would have marked his test debut, the management have gone with Prithvi Shaw.

Shaw was selected for the 2018 Border-Gavaskar series as well but failed to play a single test after sustaining an ankle injury during a practice match.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane will take up their respective positions and will hope to replicate their efforts to retain the trophy like last time around.

Hanuma Vihari has been included and is expected to bat at No.6 and also roll his arms with his off-spin as a potential fifth bowler if required.

India go with four frontline bowlers in the playing eleven

The Men In Blue, who will be donning the whites went for a single spinner with Ravichandran Ashwin pipping out the competition posed from Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav.

Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami were the expected two frontline pacers for the team and in the absence of veteran Ishant Sharma, the team had a pool of fast bowling options to pick from. With Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini and Umesh Yadav in the list, India opted to go for the latter.

The players that could not find a place in the eleven include KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja and Rishabh Pant.

Looking for a betting site with the best bonus for Indian customers? Discover the best ones for you!

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out
Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at


“He can be the real difference between India-Australia”: Allan Border names India’s match winner