The Indian women’s hockey team won the Asian Champions Trophy after defeating Japan. In the final on Sunday at Ranchi, the hosts defeated Japan 4-0.

India won the continental championship in 2016 in Singapore. The scorers this time around were local lady Sangita Kumari (17th minute), Neha Goyal (46th), Lalremsiami (57th), and Vandana Katariya (60th).

This is India’s first championship since the team led by Janneke Schopman won the FIH Nations Cup in Valencia in December 2022 to earn a spot in the Pro League.

Due to the failure of one of the four floodlights at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh AstroTurf Hockey Stadium, the final was delayed by fifty minutes. With the support of the Indian men’s team in the stands, India performed at their peak during the match. In August, the men triumphed in the continental competition held in Chennai.

The hosts broke through Japan’s defense right away by playing offensive hockey. Although Deepika had a terrific chance and Japan was living in dangerous times, the forward took too long to lose out.

When Navneet Kaur made a superb run to the top of the Japanese striking circle, the impasse was eventually broken. To the pleasure of the 10,000 spectators, she transferred the ball to Neha, who pushed it to Sangita, the Jharkhand player’s sixth goal of the tournament, as she sent it past the line.

After several minutes, Japan tied the score, however the goal was disallowed due to India’s referral. Savita Punia, the captain, made three consecutive penalty corner (PC) saves while playing excellent goalkeeping. In the last quarter, she also prevented a penalty stroke.

With a PC variation, Deepika passed to Deep Grace Ekka, who struck the ball, and Neha in front of the goal scored, giving India their second goal. Lalremsiami scored India’s third goal using a PC. In the very end, Vandana brought it all together.

In the third-place playoff, South Korea was defeated by China 2-1.