India announce 18-man squad for T20I series against West Indies


The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced an 18-man squad for the five-match T20I series against West Indies. The touring party will be led by Rohit Sharma as the Men In Blue ramp up preparations for the 2022 T20 World Cup. 

As speculated earlier, Virat Kohli has been rested for the assignment along with the likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal. Umran Malik loses his spot while Arshdeep Singh continues to be part of the Indian camp.

In the absence of Chahal, the spin department will be led by Ravi Bishnoi and R Ashwin, who makes a return to the white-ball setup. The off-spinner was last seen in the shortest format during the home T20I series against New Zealand after the 2021 T20 World Cup.

The likes of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav also mark their return to the team, but their involvement is subject to fitness. The duo are currently recovering from their respective injuries and have not been involved in the last couple of series.

The return of Rahul, marks the exit of Ruturaj Gaikwad, who failed to impress in the opportunities he availed in the absence of the senior players.

Team India continue to persist with the same pace bowling combination. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, and Avesh Khan forge the seam attack while Hardik Pandya acts as the fourth option.

Ravindra Jadeja and Deepak Hooda are the spin bowling all rounders while Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant emerge as the wicket-keeping prospects.

Team India squad for T20I series against West Indies

Rohit Sharma (C), I Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, D Hooda, S Iyer, D Karthik, R Pant, H Pandya, R Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, R Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, B Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

*Inclusion of KL Rahul & Kuldeep Yadav is subject to fitness.

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

To bet on sports, click here

Also Read:

India vs England 2nd ODI: Odds, Predictions and Analysis