India announce playing XI for WTC final against New Zealand


While the air in India awaits monsoon, it is also thick with anticipation as India gears up for the final of the inaugural World Test Championship. Team India have proceeded to reveal their playing eleven that will take the field against the Kiwis tomorrow in Southampton. 

India announce playing XI for WTC final against New Zealand

Team India will field five bowlers at the Rose Bowl with both Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin sealing their spot in the team.

The biggest debate which came in the bowling department has also been resolved as the management opted to go for Ishant Sharma’s experience ahead of Mohammad Siraj’s bubbling energy.

Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill retain their place as the opening pair and will face the new cherry from Tim Southee and Trent Boult. The middle-order was perhaps the most unanimous of all as Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane and Rishabh Pant make up the backbone of the batting unit.

Pant will also have the responsibility of donning the gloves behind the wicket. The probing questions behind his wicketkeeping have died down due to impeccable performances as of late, but the youngster will have to be on his toes to deal with the pace attack of India bowling with full steam. The onus will also be on the slip cordon, which has been a cause of worry for the team.

The side poses depth in batting as Jadeja and Ashwin have proven themselves with the bat as of late.

India Playing XI for WTC Final

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

To bet on sports, click here

ALSO READ: How have India and New Zealand fared in their previous ICC encounters