IND vs ENG 2nd T20I Review: India take an unassailable lead as Rohit records 14th successive win as skipper


Team India defeated England in the 2nd T20I by 49 runs at Edgbaston in Birmingham and sealed the series by taking a 2-0 lead in the three-match series. With this win, India has now beaten England in four consecutive T20I series and has become the first team to beat England at Edgbaston in a T20I.

India vs England, 2nd T20I Highlights: India Beat England By 49 Runs, Take Unassailable 2-0 Lead | Cricket News

Bhuvneshwar Kumar stars with the ball again as India registers a 49-run win

India vs England 2nd T20I Highlights: All-round India crush England by 49 runs to seal series - The Times of India : India put series in kitty with one match to go!

Jos Buttler won the toss and elected to field first on a tricky wicket. England handed a debut to right-arm pacer Richard Gleeson and brought back David Willey in the side in place of Tymal Mills and Reece Topley.

On the other hand, the Indian team made four changes as all four senior players Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, and Rishabh Pant who were available were brought into the team.

India was off to a fiery start as the new opening pair of Rohit and Pant brought up fifty in the first five overs. However, debutant Gleeson brought his side back into the game with three quick wickets in back-to-back overs.

India was pushed to the backfoot as SKY and Hardik stitched a small partnership. Chris Jordan, who was England’s standout bowler dismissed both batters in quick succession as India was reeling at 89 for 5. But Ravindra Jadeja played a valuable knock of 46 and with useful contributions from Karthik and Harshal, India put up a fighting total of 170 on the board.

England had the worst possible start as in-form Bhuvi dismissed Roy on the very first ball. He then dismissed Buttler again and put England under pressure. Indian bowlers did not let the pressure go down as England was pushed back at 60 for 6 inside 10 overs.

Moeen Ali (35 off 21 balls) and David Willey (33* off 22) fought hard but the target was way out of reach for the English side. In the end, England was bowled out for 121 as almost all Indian bowlers picked up at least one wicket. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was adjudged the rightful Player of the Match for his exceptional spell with the new ball.

Rohit Sharma has now won 7 international series in a row and has 14 consecutive victories in T20Is as skipper of India.


India vs England 2nd T20I: Odds, Predictions and, Analysis