ICC reveals 2022 Women’s World Cup schedule, India’s first qualifier on March 6

Indian women's team during the women's Twenty20 World Cup cricket tournament in Australia.

Team India will start their campaign of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 against a qualifier on March 6, which is slated to begin on March 4, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced on Tuesday. A total of 31 matches will be played across 31 days between March 4 and April 3 as well.

Indian women’s team during the women’s Twenty20 World Cup cricket tournament in Australia.

Notably, this will be the first global women’s cricket event to take place since the T20 World Cup in Australia in March 2020. The tournament was earlier scheduled to take place in 2021 but later got postponed due to global pandemic novel COVID-19.

The first game will be played between the hosts New Zealand and a qualifier on March 4 at the Bay Oval. The Indian Team will play seven matches in the group stage against New Zealand (March 10), England (March 16), Australia (March 19) and South Africa (March 27) whereas the other three will be against qualifiers which will be announced later.

However, India captain Mithali Raj said that she is looking forward to leading her team in the World Cup, which is supposed to be her last as well.

“We have all been through a very difficult year and are happy to be getting back at playing the game we all love,” said Mithali Raj according to the ICC media release.

“India has been doing very well at ICC tournaments in the past three or four years, whether you talk about the (ODI) World Cup or the recently concluded T20 World Cup, and if we manage to win the tournament in 2022, it will be a massive inspiration for the next generation of girls, as the fifty-over format, is considered the pinnacle for any cricketer. I can assure you the team and I are looking forward to it,” she further added.

On the other hand, the Basin Reserve in Wellington and the Hagley Oval in Christchurch will host the semi-finals whereas the latter also host the final on April 3, 2021. Notably, New Zealand, Australia, England, South Africa and India have already qualified for the World Cup. The three remaining teams will be decided from the ICC qualifying tournament which is slated to take place between June 26 to July 10, 2021, in Sri Lanka.

The eight-team will play in a round-robin format against each other, with the top four teams qualifying for semi-finals as well. The six host cities are Auckland, Tauranga, Hamilton, Wellington, Christchurch, and Dunedin whereas the prize money will be of NZD$5.5million.

“We are extremely proud of the significant progress we have made in increasing prize money for ICC events over the last few years, with the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in New Zealand having $NZD5.5 million dollars available in prize money, an increase of almost 60 per cent on 2017 and more than 1000 per cent compared to 2013,” said ICC CEO Manu Sawhney.

The Women’s Cricket World Cup will be the first of two major cricket tournaments across the globe in 2022 – the other being the Commonwealth Games in England.


Bay Oval, Tauranga

Fri 04 Mar 2022    New Zealand v Qualifier
Sun 06 Mar 2022    Qualifier v India
Tue 08 Mar 2022    Australia v Qualifier
Fri 11 Mar 2022    Qualifier v South Africa
Mon 14 Mar 2022    South Africa v England
Wed 16 Mar 2022    England v India
Fri 18 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Qualifier

University Oval, Dunedin

Sat 05 Mar 2022    Qualifier v South Africa
Mon 07 Mar 2022    New Zealand v Qualifier
Wed 09 Mar 2022    Qualifier v England

Seddon Park, Hamilton

Sat 05 Mar 2022    Australia v England
Thu 10 Mar 2022    New Zealand v India
Sat 12 Mar 2022    Qualifier v India
Mon 14 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Qualifier
Thu 17 Mar 2022    New Zealand v South Africa
Mon 21 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Qualifier
Tue 22 Mar 2022    India v Qualifier

Basin Reserve, Wellington

Sun 13 Mar 2022    New Zealand v Australia
Tue 15 Mar 2022    Australia v Qualifier
Tue 22 Mar 2022    South Africa v Australia
Thu 24 Mar 2022    South Africa v Qualifier
Fri 25 Mar 2022    Qualifier v Australia
Sun 27 Mar 2022    England v Qualifier
Wed 30 Mar 2022    Semi-Final 1

Eden Park, Auckland

Sat 19 Mar 2022    India v Australia
Sun 20 Mar 2022    New Zealand v England

Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Thu 24 Mar 2022    England v Qualifier
Sat 26 Mar 2022     New Zealand v Qualifier
Sun 27 Mar 2022    India v South Africa
Thu 31 Mar 2022    Semi-Final 2
Sun 03 Apr 2022    FINAL

Looking for a betting site with the best bonus for Indian customers? Discover the best ones for you!

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com
Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com


BCCI prez Sourav Ganguly, secretary Jay Shah to continue office until next court hearing in January 2021

Bumrah, Bhuvi, Natarajan: Virender Sehwag’s three musketeers to lead Indian bowling in 2021 T20 WC