ICC reveal nominees for Test Player Of The Year; R Ashwin included


The ICC have named four nominees for the prestigious Test player of the year award. Joe Root, Dimruth Karunaratne, Kyle Jamieson and R Ashwin are the players who will be up against each other for the prize.

The winner will be revealed on January 24 alongside all of the men’s awards, the umpire of the year and the Spirit Of Cricket Award as well. The winner will be adjudged following a comprehensive voting panel comprising of broadcasters, journalists as well as fans.

Joe Root had a sensational year at a personal level after amassing over 1700 runs in the calendar year. The England skipper came close to breaking Mohammad Yousuf’s record of most Test runs in a year. The 30-year-old had amassed centuries n challenging subcontinent conditions of India and Sri Lanka. He had a home tour to remember against India with three centuries to his name.

R Ashwin, on the back of his two man of the series awards in the ongoing year, has made it to the list of nominees. Apart from his heroics at home, he was pivotal in India’s draw at Sydney at the start of the year. He claimed 52 wickets across 8 Tests in 2021.

Kyle Jamieson had a landmark year with the Blackcaps which is illuminated by his player of the match in the WTC Final. His all-round exploits have been vital for New Zealand in the longest format He also staked his claim in subcontinent conditions with a notable performance against India in Kanpur.

Dimruth Karunaratne has arguably been one of the best Test openers in recent times. The Sri Lanka captain made his case with 902 runs in 7 Tests at an average of 69.38. He also chipped in with four centuries to mark a notable year.

ICC will reveal the nominees for the individual and team awards gradually. Here is the list of all the individual awards that the ICC would bestow.

The individual award categories are:

– Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year
– Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year
– ICC Spirit of Cricket Award
– ICC Umpire of the Year

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here

Also Read:

Sanjay Bangar says Ajinkya Rahane was “freakish” at the crease leading to dismissal