ICC announces ‘Teams of the Decade’, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli named captains of the limited overs and Test squads!

Virat Kohli had a patchy tour of Australia in terms of form. (Indian Express)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the much-awaited Men’s and Women’s ODI and T20I teams of the decade on Sunday. While former India captain MS Dhoni has been named as the captain of both ODI and T20I sides, Virat Kohli named as the Test captain as well.

Virat Kohli
Giving it a miss: Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli.

The T20I team is consist of four India players, two players from Australia, two players from West Indies and one player each from Sri Lanka, South Africa, and Afghanistan too. India captain Virat Kohli, speedster Jasprit Bumrah and opener Rohit Sharma are the three Indian players in the T20I team. On the other hand, former South Africa captain AB de Villiers and swashbuckling batsman – Chris Gayle have also been included in the team.

ICC’s T20I Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (C), Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, and Lasith Malinga

Meanwhile, the ICC’s ODI team of the decade, captained by MS Dhoni also included star India opener Rohit and the captain, Kohli. Apart from them, Australia opener David Warner has also been picked as openers whereas former South Africa player AB De Villiers has been named as a middle-order batsman. Bangladesh’s star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and England all-rounder Ben Stokes have also been included in the team as well.

The bowling attack includes Australian pace bowler Micthell Starc, New Zealand pacer Trent Boult, and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga as well.

ICC’s ODI Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni (C), Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Imran Tahir and Lasith Malinga

The cricketing body has also announced the Test team of the decade as well and no other than Virat Kohli named as the captain. The team includes some of the famous players like Alistair Cook, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith and Kumar Sangakkara. The bowling unit comprised of Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, and Ravi Ashwin.

ICC’s Test Team of the Decade: Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli (C), Steve Smith, Kumar Sangakkara, Ben Stokes, Ravi Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

As far as the women’s T20I team of the decade is concerned, India’s Harmanpreet Kaur and Poonam Yadav have been named whereas Australia’s Meg Lanning has been picked as the captain of that team. The bowling department consists of Anya Shrubsole, Megan Schutt, and Poonam Yadav.

ICC’s T20I Team of the Decade: Alyssa Healy, Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur, Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin, Ellyse Perry, Anya Shrubsole, Megan Schutt, Poonam Yadav

Looking for a betting site with the best bonus for Indian customers? Discover the best ones for you!

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com
Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com


Justin Langer gives update on David Warner’s injury and possible comeback to Australia lineup

Gautam Gambhir lauds the Indian bowling attack following clinical display at MCG