Haryana and Odisha register wins on the 10th day of the National Women’s Hockey League


The National Women’s Hockey League 2024, held at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Astroturf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi, Jharkhand, witnessed two thrilling matches on its tenth day.

Day 10 at National Women’s Hockey League

The day’s opening showdown was between Hockey Haryana and Hockey Madhya Pradesh. The match was a nail-biter, with both teams fighting tooth and nail but unable to convert their chances into goals. Despite being awarded multiple penalty corners, neither team could find the back of the net, leaving the score tied 0-0 at the end of regulation time.

The match then proceeded to a shootout, where Manju Chorsiya, Pinki, and Khasa Shashi scored for Hockey Haryana, while Karmanpreet Kaur and Swati scored for Hockey Madhya Pradesh. Ishika, the goalkeeper for Hockey Haryana, saved three goals, helping her team clinch a 3-2 victory in the shootout.

The second match of the day saw the Hockey Association of Odisha take on Hockey Mizoram. The first quarter of the match was goalless, but Pratibha Ekka (25’) put the Hockey Association of Odisha on the board with a field goal in the second quarter. The third quarter didn’t see any goals either, leaving the Hockey Association of Odisha leading 1-0 going into the final quarter.

In the final quarter, Karuna Minz (52’) doubled their lead with a field goal, securing a 2-0 victory for the Hockey Association of Odisha.

Also Read: This is How Indian IT Giants are Fueling the Formula Racing World