Haryana and Madhya Pradesh register commanding wins in the National Women’s Hockey League

Women's Hockey League

The National Women’s Hockey League 2024 (Phase 1) witnessed two thrilling matches on May 4, 2024, where Haryana and Madhya Pradesh emerged victorious against Bengal and Maharashtra respectively.

Haryana continue their dominance at Women’s Hockey League

In the opening match of the day, Hockey Haryana defeated Hockey Bengal 4-3, registering their third consecutive win. The match started with Bengal’s Silbiya Nag converting a penalty corner in the 2nd minute. Selestina Horo then doubled their lead with another penalty corner conversion in the 19th minute.

However, Haryana’s captain Neelam retaliated quickly, converting a penalty corner in the 20th minute, reducing the deficit to 2-1 at halftime. In the 41st minute, Nandni converted another penalty corner for Haryana to level the scores. Shashi Khasa then converted yet another penalty corner in the 43rd minute, helping Haryana take the lead.

Pinki scored a field goal early in the final quarter, taking Haryana to a 4-2 lead. Shanti Horo scored a field goal for Bengal in the 51st minute, creating a possibility of a comeback. However, Haryana held onto their lead, winning the game 4-3.

Madhya Pradesh’s Resilient Win

In the day’s second showdown, Hockey Madhya Pradesh defeated Hockey Maharashtra 2-1. After a quiet first half without any goals, Madhya Pradesh broke the deadlock late in the third quarter with a field goal from Aanchal Sahu in the 45th minute.

Maharashtra’s captain Ashwini Kolekar scored a field goal just under five minutes into the final quarter, levelling the scores. However, Swati put Madhya Pradesh back in the lead with a field goal in the 54th minute. Madhya Pradesh then played a tight defence game to retain their one-goal lead.

Also Read: Mayank Yadav to miss the remaining IPL 2024, confirms Justin Langer