Dinesh Karthik or Rishabh Pant?- Ex-Indian Skipper Explains His Choice For Team India T20 WC Playing XI

dinesh karthik rishabh pant

The former Indian skipper Sunil Gavaskar has shared his thoughts on Team India picking both Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik as the wicket-keeping and batting options. They recently announced the squad for the coveted tournament and it will be interesting to see how the Men in Blue utilize the two wicketkeeper-batters. Gavaskar has said that he would play both Pant and Karthik in his playing XI for the upcoming T20 World Cup. 

Sunil Gavaskar explains why he would pick them both in the playing XI

dinesh karthik rishabh pant

Gavaskar stated that risks need to be taken if the Men in Blue want to win a marquee event:

“I would play both Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik. At No.5, Rishabh Pant, No.6 Hardik Pandya or the vice-versa and I’ll play Dinesh Karthik at No.7. I would give with Hardik and four other options as bowlers. If you do not take risk, how will you win? You need to take risk in all departments then only you can get rewards,” Gavaskar told Sports Tak.

It was previously reported, Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel are making their return to the squad after recovering from their respective injuries. Gavaskar reckoned that their inclusion will boslter the squad:

“It is a good team. It is a balanced side, we have high hopes from them in terms of winning the World Cup. I think India can win the World Cup because of the balance. What happened in Asia Cup was a wake-up call, I am hopeful that this team will come back with the World Cup. The team that has been selected, we should support that. Now that the time has been announced, we should give our full backing,” added Gavaskar.

India are set to play two limited-overs series at home against Australia and South Africa before heading to the showcase event in Australia.

Check out India’s squad for T20 World Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvenshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players: Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here