Cricket: Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar return as India announce squad for final 3 ODIs


(Photo Courtesy: India Today)

The selection committee met on Thursday to pick the Indian squad for the final 3 ODIs vs Windies. India’s frontline pacers, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar returned to the squad while Mohammad Shami faced the axe.

Shami, who was India’s most expensive bowler in Guwahati, bettered his performance in the 2nd ODI, bowling crucial yorkers to take the game to the final over. But his improved performance wasn’t enough for him to retain his place in the side.

Meanwhile, Kedar Jadhav, who exited Asia Cup midway due to an injury was expected to be back in the squad. Despite his unbeaten 41 off 25 for India A in the Deodhar trophy today, he doesn’t find a place in the squad.

India ran out convincing winners in the 1st ODI thanks to centuries from Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. But the visitors hit back strong in the 2nd ODI putting up a solid performance to salvage a tie.

The remaining three matches will be played in Pune, Mumbai (Brabourne Stadium) and Thiruvananthapuram on October 27, 29 and November 1.

Squad: Virat Kohli (cap), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey.

Also Read:

Chairman of selectors does a “Pitch Puja” to ensure India wins – the match ends up getting tied instead