CPL 2020 Matchday 3 Review: Rain helps St Lucia win by DLS, Narine-Munro combo smash Trinbago to 2nd victory

Image Courtesy: CPL
AdvertisementUFC - GYM Crickx

The 2020 Caribbean Premier League (CPL), 8th edition of the domestic T20 cricket tournament of the West Indies saw its 3rd Matchday today, where St Lucia Zouks secured their 1st victory of the tournament with a quick win against Barbados Tridents, followed by Trinbago Knight Riders comfortable chase victory, thanks to blistering spells from Sunil Narine and Colin Munro.

Image Courtesy: CPL

Match 1: Barbados Tridents vs St Lucia Zouks

Coming off as the defending champions, Barbados Tridents were the favourites to continue their win streak against St Lucia Zouks, who lost their first match against Jamaica Tallawahs yesterday. Unfortunately, the sudden arrival of rain at the at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy turned the tides in favour for the underdogs, as Darren Sammy and co eased into victory thanks to DLS method.

Winning the toss, Barbados captain Jason Holder elected to bat first, as they racked up a score of 131 for 7 wickets, until rain stopped the play by the 1st ball of 19th over. Opener Johnson Charles smashed a quick 19-ball-35. St Lucia spinner Roston Chase picked two wickets.


The DLS method set up a target of 47 runs from 5 overs for St Lucia. Rahkeem Cornwall started off with a 14-off-8, while his opening partner Andre Fletcher kept his strike on a 7-ball-16. Player of the Match Mohammad Nabi, who also picked a wicket in the first innings, scored 15 runs off 6 balls, as St Lucia finished the match with 5 balls to go, scoring 50 runs for 3 wickets. Rashid Khan secured two wickets.

Brief scoreboard:


Barbados Tridents 131/7 (18.1 overs) (Johnson Charles 35, Roston Chase 2-8)

St.Lucia Zouks (DLS) 50/3 (4.1 overs) (Andre Fletcher 16*, Rashid Khan 2-24)

Match 2: Trinbago Knight Riders vs Jamaica Tallawahs

Three time champions Trinbago Knight Riders won the toss and the captain Kieron Pollard elected to field first. Looking to eye their second victory, Jamaica scored 135 runs for 8 wickets. The young South African Glenn Phillips set the stage in the first innings, smashing a 58-off-42 for the Rovman Powell and his squad. Trinbago teenage pacer Jayden Seales picked two wickets.

Even though Lendl Simmons unfortunately ducked, his opening partner and Trinbago’s superstar all rounder Sunil Narine set off the chase with a swashbuckling 38-ball-53 with seven boundaries and two sixes. Colin Munro kept his strike at 49-off-46, as the Knight Riders finished the chase at 18.1 overs, scoring 136 for 3 wickets. Narine, who also secured a wicket in the first innings was awarded Player of the Match award.

Brief scoreboard:

Jamaica Tallawahs 135/8 (Glenn Phillips 58, Jayden Seales 2-21)

Trinbago Knight Riders (Sunil Narine 53, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1-13)

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com
Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

CPL 2020 Matchday 2 Review: Jamaica sink St.Lucia while Guyana continues to shine

Boris Thangjam, U17 WC player becomes first active footballer to be COVID-19 positive