Corona chaos continues-FIFA cancels U17 and U20 World Cups in 2021


In yet another setback for football to return to normal, coronavirus has made Fifa cancel the upcoming U17, U20 men’s World cup.

The decision comes after Fifa had already cancelled the U17 Women’s World cup(scheduled to be held in India) and U20 Women’s world cup(slated to be held in Costa Rica), which means that 2021 won’t be having any of the allocated FIFA events.

The U-17 World Cup was originally slated to take place in Peru and the U-20 World Cup in Indonesia, with FIFA also announcing that both countries will now be hosting the respective tournaments in 2023.

“Global situation has failed to normalize,” says FIFA

The decision to cancel the respective tournament came to public light via Twitter on Thursday.

Indonesia and Peru were due to host the two tournaments, but now they have been awarded the 2023 editions.


“The COVID-19 pandemic continues to present challenges for the hosting of international sporting events and to have a restrictive effect on international travel,” FIFA said in its statement via Twitter.
“…it became clear that the global situation has failed to normalize to a sufficient level to address the challenges associated with hosting both tournaments, including the feasibility of the relevant qualification pathways.”

Slots for the 2023 Women’s FIFA WC announced-

Following the success of the 2019 edition, the decision was taken last year to expand the FIFA Women’s World Cup to 32 teams, and thus continue to foster the growth of women’s football. The world body has since worked closely with the confederations to formulate a proposal for the allocation of slots and the Bureau of the FIFA Council on Thursday has confirmed the following berths for the 2023 edition:


Direct slot allocation (29 of the 32 participation slots)

  • 6 direct slots for the AFC;
  • 4 direct slots for CAF;
  • 4 direct slots for Concacaf;
  • 3 direct slots for CONMEBOL;
  • 1 direct slot for the OFC; and
  • 11 direct slots for UEFA

also read: War of the veterans: Jay Shah’s Secretary XI Beat Ganguly’s President XI In Friendly At Motera

The two host countries, Australia and New Zealand will automatically qualify for the Women’s World Cup 2023, and their slots have been taken directly from the quotas allocated to their confederations, namely the AFC and the OFC respectively.

The three remaining slots will be decided through a ten-team playoff tournament.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out
Also, do follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

Also read:

Tim Paine aims to shut down the threat posed by KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant