Bhuvneshwar Kumar climbs to 2nd spot with maiden overs bowled in IPL history


Bhuvneshwar Kumar, a name synonymous with disciplined bowling and strategic gameplay, holds the second position for the most maiden overs bowled in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). This feat is particularly challenging in a format where batters tend to charge right from the start.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s leagcy in IPL

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, a two-time IPL Purple Cap winner, has bowled 13 maiden overs in 146 matches. His ability to maintain a consistent line and length, coupled with his knack for outwitting opponents, has made him a formidable player in the IPL.

The record for the most maiden overs (14) in IPL history is held by Praveen Kumar. He played for five franchises across 10 IPL seasons. The list of bowlers with the most maiden overs in IPL history is dominated by fast bowlers.

Here is the list of top 10 bowlers with the most maiden overs in IPL:

  1. Praveen Kumar: 14 maidens in 119 matches
  2. Bhuvneshwar Kumar: 13 maidens in 146 matches
  3. Trent Boult: 11 maidens in 84 matches
  4. Irfan Pathan: 10 maidens in 103 matches
  5. Dhawal Kulkarni: 8 maidens in 92 matches
  6. Sandeep Sharma: 8 maidens in 104 matches
  7. Jasprit Bumrah: 8 maidens in 120 matches
  8. Lasith Malinga: 8 maidens in 122 matches
  9. Dale Steyn: 7 maidens in 95 matches
  10. Harbhajan Singh: 6 maidens in 163 matches

Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s consistent performance in the IPL over the years has been commendable. As the IPL progresses, it will be interesting to see if Bhuvneshwar Kumar can surpass Praveen Kumar to become the bowler with the most maiden overs in IPL history.

Also Read: Smriti Mandhana made her international debut for India OTD in 2013