BCCI reportedly aiming to kick-start domestic campaign from November 19


The BCCI are reportedly considering to resume the domestic season from November 19 with the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy. As a result of this decision, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Duleep Trophy, and the Irani Cup won’t be held this year.

A number of players who will be a part of their franchise’s unit for the IPL in the UAE will miss the initial round of fixtures due to the quarantine protocols. A total of 245 games will be held across the Ranji Trophy (December to March) and Mushtaq Ali trophy.


A senior member of the BCCI who wished to remain anonymous claimed to PTI that this is a tentative list that has gone for the approval of president Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah. He added:

“This is a tentative list that has been prepared and it has gone for approval of president Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah,” a senior BCCI official told PTI on condition of anonymity.

The source claimed that the quarantine rule after coming back from overseas might impact the players who won’t get game time in the IPL. Even an early exit from the competition will ensure a quarantine period until November 17. To resolve this probing issue, the bCCI might make some tweaks to the tentative list, he said:

“That’s an issue primarily for the uncapped players, who would be with the squad and would like to play some cricket. Now even a player’s team is knocked out before play-offs, he won’t be back before November 3 and till November 17 will be in quarantine.

“For those whose teams are in play-offs and may reach finals, they will have to miss the first few rounds in that case. But again this is a draft proposal and there could be some tweaks in it,”

BCCI to stick with the group league format for Ranji Trophy

Upon asked the possibility of bringing back the zonal format in the Ranji Trophy, the source claimed that in order to maintain uniformity in the competition, they will stick to the group league format itself.

“The basic idea to stop of the Zonal system was to ensure that there is uniformity in competition. So we will continue with our group league format but with a change,”

Instead of the top five teams qualifying for the next round from Group A and B, this time around two top teams from Group A, B and C will qualify for the quarter-finals.

The remaining two spots will be slotted to the best third-placed team across the three groups and a playoff game between the winners of Group D and E respectively.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com
Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

Also, Read

Is Jasprit Bumrah’s bowling action injury-prone?