BCCI announce squad for England Test and South Africa T20Is


The Board For Control of Cricket In India (BCCI) announced the squads for the one-off Test against England and the five-match T20I series over the Proteas. Several senior players have been rested for the white-ball leg with KL Rahul chosen to lead the side. 


The home series against South Africa marks India’s first assignment after the ongoing IPL season. The T20Is will begin on June 9 following which will leave for a tour of Ireland and Ireland.

Umran Malik and Arshdeep Singh are the new faces in the Indian squad for the home series. The fast bowling duo have endured successful IPL campaigns. Malik has been a revelation, bowling consistently at a pace of 150 kmph while Arshdeep played his role as a death bowler to perfection to earn a maiden call-up.

Dinesh Karthik also gets a well-earned recall. The wicket-keeper batter has been one of RCB’s most crucial players with his exploits down the order in the tournament.

The likes of Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Rohit Sharma have been rested following a hectic IPL season. Rishabh Pant will act as deputy to KL Rahul for the series.

India’s T20I squad: KL Rahul (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (VC, wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Meanwhile, the BCCI have named a strong side for the remaining Test in England. The two teams will play the final contest of the five-match series in Birmingham from July 1 onwards. The series was suspended after four Tests last year following a COVID outbreak in the Indian camp.

Mayank Agarwal finds himself out of the side after a poor string of scores in overseas Tests. Shubman Gill, who missed the tour of England last year due to an injury, finds himself back into the mix.

The contest will mark Rohit Sharma’s first overseas assignment after being named Team India captain on a permanent basis. Cheteshwar Pujara has earned a recall into the squad following a successful county stint with Sussex. However, Ajinkya Rahane remains out of contention after a dismal IPL campaign with KKR.

India’s Test squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc) Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here

Also Read:

BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly purchases new mansion worth of whopping ₹40 crore in Kolkata