BCCI announces Team India’s Test series squad against New Zealand


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday announced a 16-man Team India squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against New Zealand. The series is set to begin after the conclusion of the three T20Is. The first Test will begin on November 25 at Green Park, Kanpur. The New Zealand tour of India will conclude after the 2nd and the final Test, which will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai from December 3. 

Team India to see some alterations

team india test

Rohit Sharma, who will lead the Men in Blue in the three T20Is, will skip the entire series. While Virat Kohli will join the squad for the 2nd Test in Mumbai and will lead the team. Ajinkya Rahane is set to lead India in the Kanpur Test as Virat Kohli has been rested. Ace batsman Cheteshwar Pujara has been named the vice-captain for the first Test.

Wicketkeeper-batsman KS Bharat has been included, along with Wriddhiman Saha, to the squad and will be replacing Rishabh Pant.

ALSO READ: BCCI announces India’s T20I squad for NZ series, Rohit Sharma named the captain

Spinning aces Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are included along with left-armer Axar Patel. Off-break bowler Jayant Yadav has returned to India’s Test set-up after a hiatus of more than four years. Back in 2017, he last played for India in whites against Australia in Pune.

The pacer Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami will be missing the series after being rested as part of BCCI’s workload management policy. Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma are the two senior pacers in the squad, along with Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna.

You can check out India’s squad for New Zealand Tests below:

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here