BCCI announces India’s T20I squad for NZ series, Rohit Sharma named the captain

rohit sharma

Team India had a forgettable run in the ICC T20 World Cup and after their final game against Namibia, Virat Kohli stepped down as the skipper. Now, The Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) has announced the squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand and it has been revealed that Rohit Sharma is set to lead the Men in Blue. On Tuesday, the board announced a 16-member squad that will play three T20Is against the Kiwis starting later this month. The squad will see the exclusion of some marquee players while some young talents have been called up to the squad.

Rohit Sharma to lead the team, few names missing

Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, and Ravindra Jadeja, have been rested for the T20Is.

KL Rahul has been appointed as vice-captain of the team. It will also maiden international call-ups for IPL sensations Venkatesh Iyer and Harshal Patel. Iyer was part of Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL 2021, scoring 370 runs at an average of 41.11 with four half-centuries and tallying three wickets. He played a crucial role in the two-time champions reaching the final.

While Harshal served the Royal Challengers Bangalore and was the leading wicket-taker with 32 wickets, the joint-highest in a single edition of the IPL, including a hat-trick against five-time champions Mumbai Indians.

ALSO READ: Ravi Shastri drops hints on a comeback to commentary role

Rahul Dravid will now take over the head coach duties, as Ravi Shastri’s tenure ended. The home series against New Zealand starting 17th November.

No information has been released on India’s Test squad for the two-match series against New Zealand, which starts November 25, following the conclusion of the T20Is on November 21.

Team India T20I squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj.


  • Rohit Sharma to be the captain
  • Venkatesh Iyer and Harshal Patel received maiden International call-ups

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here