BCCI announces 15-member squad for T20 WC 2024


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The tournament will be hosted in the West Indies and the USA.

BCCI’s squad for T20 WC

Rohit Sharma, an experienced campaigner and a prolific run-scorer, has been named the captain of the team. Hardik Pandya, known for his explosive batting and handy bowling, will serve as the vice-captain. Virat Kohli, a stalwart of Indian cricket, has made a return to the side. His experience and ability to perform under pressure will be crucial for the team.

The batting line-up looks solid with the inclusion of Yashasvi Jaiswal and Suryakumar Yadav. Jaiswal, a young talent, has shown promise in domestic cricket and will be eager to prove himself on the international stage. Yadav, known for his aggressive batting style, can change the course of a match within a few overs.

Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson, both wicket-keeper batsmen, have been included in the squad. Pant’s aggressive batting and improving wicket-keeping skills make him a valuable asset. Samson, on the other hand, is known for his clean hitting and reliable wicket-keeping.

The all-round department boasts the dynamic duo of Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja. Their ability to contribute with both bat and ball provides balance to the team.

Bowling Department

The bowling attack comprises Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohd. Siraj. Chahal and Yadav are skilled spinners who can trouble the batsmen with their variations. Patel, a left-arm spinner, can also contribute with the bat. Bumrah, known for his accurate yorkers, and Siraj, a promising fast bowler, complete the pace attack.

Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan have been named as reserves. They will be ready to step in if any player in the main squad is unavailable.


  1. Top-order options: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Yashasvi Jaiswal.
  2. 4 Spinners, two wrist spinners and two finger spinners.
  3. Only 3 specialist fast bowlers.
  4. Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson were picked ahead of KL Rahul.
  5. Rinku Singh misses out despite consistent form, Shivam Dube is in.
  6. Hardik Pandya named Rohit Sharma’s deputy.

India will begin their World Cup campaign against Ireland on June 05, 2024, at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York. This will be followed by matches against Pakistan, USA, and Canada.

Also Read: Mumbai Indians bowler Kumar Kartikeya is optimistic of team’s playoff qualification