BCCI announce squads for Sri Lanka tour; Shikhar Dhawan to lead the side


Shikhar Dhawan will lead the Indian contingent when they tour the island nation for a  limited-overs series in July. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will act as the vice-captain of the squad which comprises five new members. 

BCCI announce squads for Sri Lanka tour; Shikhar Dhawan to lead the side

The tour, which will run parallel to the red-ball tour in England played by the first string team, constitutes three ODIs and three T20Is.

Apart from the players, the coaching staff will also see a change as Rahul Dravid is expected to take over responsibilities in the absence of head coach Ravi Shastri.

Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana, Chetan Sakariya, and K Gowtham are the players who have been awarded their first-ever call-up to the national sides.

The newbies will have to vouch for a place at the top of the order with the Delhi Capitals duo of Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw expected to start.

K Gowtham will play second fiddle to Krunal Pandya as the all-rounder spinner in the absence of Ravindra Jadeja. The wicket-keeper spots have been occupied by Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson.

In the absence of the regular pacers, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the attack and will be aided by Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, and left-arm Chetan Sakariya. The involvement of Hardik Pandya with the ball is yet to be known.

The squad includes five spinners including the all-rounders in the form of Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, and Varun Chakravarthy. Despite being called up to the squad multiple times now, the KKR mystery spinner has been unable to make an appearance for the nation due to injury and fitness concerns.

All of the tour fixtures are slated to take place at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. With the nation tackling a surge in the number of coronavirus cases, the involvement of the crowd seems highly unlikely at the moment.

Have a look at the full squad right below:

India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicketkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh 

ALSO READ : Five most memorable innings played in IPL

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out MMAIndia.com

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at ProPanja.com

To bet on sports, click here