Asian Games 2023: Sunil Chhetri, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu & Sandesh Jhingan Excluded From Indian Squad


Indian star footballers Sunil Chhetri, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu and Sandesh Jhingan have all been left out from India’s squad list for the upcoming Asian Games. The trio were part of the squad being the three players who are over age allowed in an otherwise under-23 tournament. Their names were missing from the list that the All India Football Federation (AIFF) sent to the organizers.

Reason for being left out

The reason cited for being excluded is that when the deadline for the submission of the teams passed on July 15 and these players were still unsure about their participation in the Asian Games. AIFF president Kalyan Chaubey and the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) have both requested the Asian Games organisers to provide accreditation as a ‘special case’ for these players.

Speaking to the Times of India, Chaubey said:

“When we (AIFF’s coaches, technical officials and support staff members and federation officials) had made a presentation to the sports ministry’s officials requesting for the football teams’ (men and women) clearance for the Asiad, we didn’t realise that their names (Chhetri, Sandhu and Jhingan) were not in the original list of athletes sent to the organisers.”

He added:

“When I realised this (omission), being the head of the organisation (AIFF), I took up the matter personally to ensure that their names were added so that they could get the accreditation. Their names have been sent to the organisers. The people concerned who made the presentation to the ministry should have known about this. As the federation president, I needed to interfere.”

Indian men’s football team for Asian Games: 

Anwar Ali, Gurmeet Singh, Lalengmawia, Narender, Rahim Ali, Lalnuntluanga Bawitlung, Rohit Danu, Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Aniket Anil Jadhav, Rahul Kannoly Praveen, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Akash Mishra, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Thoiba Singh Moirangthem, Mahesh Singh Naorem, Roshan Singh Naorem, Siva Sakthi Narayanan, Asish Rai, Vikram Pratap Singh, Deepak Tangri, Jeakson Singh Thounaojam, Suresh Singh Wangjam.

Do you want to play Casino games online? Click here to find a range of online casino brands

Place your bets for the matches here.

If you like reading about MMA, make sure you check out

Also, follow India’s biggest arm wrestling tournament at

To bet on sports, click here